CME
专家评述

局部晚期头颈肿瘤的创新治疗策略:
关注靶向凋亡抑制蛋白

发布日期 10-06-2022

失效日期 09-06-2023

局部晚期头颈部鳞状细胞癌(LA SCCHN)的治疗较为复杂,为个体患者选择最合适的治疗策略需要采取多学科团队方法。放化疗(CRT)是当前适合LA SCCHN患者治疗的金标准,然而,即使接受了治疗,许多患者仍会复发。新药及联合治疗策略可能增强CRT疗效,从而改善局部区域控制和患者生存,该方向的研究极具前景。在本次专家评述活动中,学科专家将讨论SCCHN的现行标准治疗、免疫治疗的作用、靶向凋亡抑制蛋白(IAP)的原理,以及IAP拮抗剂临床疗效的临床证据。随附的幻灯片将总结关于LA SCCHN患者最佳管理的关键数据和治疗推荐。

基于2022年4月28日录制的专家评述的活动。

Faculty

Ezra Cohen 教授

Ezra Cohen 教授

加州大学圣地亚哥分校

美国,加利福尼亚州圣地亚哥

Ezra Cohen是美国加利福尼亚州圣地亚哥精准免疫治疗中心主任和血液肿瘤科联合主任。作为临床科学家,Cohen教授领导一个独立资助实验室,主要研究新型治疗药物的作用机制。Cohen教授积极推动了靶向和免疫治疗的发展。在头颈癌表皮生长因子受体抑制剂、细胞治疗和免疫治疗方面的相关研究获得了同行评议资助。在理解关键信号通路、将新型药物纳入标准治疗以及定义克服药物治疗耐药的机制方面做出了重大贡献。近期利用独特的肿瘤突变共同开发了一种个体化新型抗原疫苗,以增强抗肿瘤免疫应答。

Cohen教授担任Moores癌症中心临床科学副主任、实体瘤治疗研究项目联合负责人以及Hanna和Mark Gleiberman头颈部肿瘤中心联合主任。此外,还担任方案审查和监测委员会(PRMC)、肿瘤委员会和肿瘤中心执行委员会成员。

Jonathan Schoenfeld 教授

Jonathan Schoenfeld 教授

丹娜-法伯癌症研究所

美国,马萨诸塞州波士顿

Jonathan Schoenfeld是哈佛医学院布莱根妇女医院放射肿瘤科副教授,美国马萨诸塞州丹娜-法伯癌症研究所高级医师。Schoenfeld教授是丹娜-法伯癌症研究所头颈部疾病中心和丹娜-法伯/哈佛癌症中心癌症免疫学项目成员。同时担任放射肿瘤科临床研究副主任。Schoenfeld教授在英国剑桥大学完成盖茨学者研究项目后,获得哈佛医学院哈佛-麻省理工医疗科技学院的医学学位。在纪念斯隆-凯特琳癌症中心进行医学实习,随后完成哈佛大学放射项目放射肿瘤学住院医师培训。获得哈佛大学陈曾熙公共卫生学院临床有效性公共卫生硕士学位。担任美国国家癌症研究所(NCI)放射和免疫调节工作组成员和NRG Oncology放射开发治疗小组委员会成员。研究重点关注评估使用新型药物和技术改善头颈部肿瘤患者治疗的临床研究,以及与免疫治疗和放疗相关的转化研究。

Yungan Tao 教授

Yungan Tao 教授

古斯塔夫鲁西研究所

法国,犹太城

Yungan Tao 是法国犹太城古斯塔夫鲁西研究所放射肿瘤科头颈/皮肤/内分泌领域的首席放射肿瘤学家。 在多项国际、欧洲和法国国家临床II/III期研究中担任主要研究者(PI)或共同PI,利用新型放疗技术,研究靶向治疗或免疫治疗与放化疗的相关性。关注转化研究,特别是与新型靶向治疗和免疫生物标志物相关的头颈肿瘤放射敏感性的研究。作为第一/共同/通讯作者,于近期在JCOLancet Onco lNature Reviews Clinical Oncology 等期刊上发表多篇论文。

Tao 教授是法国头颈部肿瘤放疗学组(GORTEC)的副主席兼执行委员会和科学委员会成员。担任法国头颈部协作组科学委员会成员,Unicancer 头颈肿瘤组的放射肿瘤学专家。此外,Tao 教授还是欧洲癌症研究和治疗组织(EORTC)头颈肿瘤组的主要研究者、放射肿瘤学家和国际原子能机构(IAEA)鼻咽癌项目专家组成员。同时担任头颈肿瘤国际协作组(HNCIG)理事会成员。

Robert Coleman 教授

Robert Coleman 教授 | (主持人)

谢菲尔德大学名誉教授

英国, 谢菲尔德

Robert(Rob)Coleman是英国谢菲尔德大学肿瘤与代谢学院肿瘤内科系名誉教授。1978年毕业于国王学院医院医学院的医学系,随后在伦敦和爱丁堡接受培训;1991年移居谢菲尔德,在开展临床癌症研究方面作出了卓越贡献,并在谢尔菲德市建立了享誉国际的骨肿瘤学研究团队。在大学和英国国家健康研究所(NIHR)癌症研究协作组担任众多领导职务;发表450余篇同行评审文章和众多专书章节,肿瘤与骨骼学会(CABS)的前任主席和Journal of Bone Oncology的创始主编。

在2014-2019年期间,Coleman教授兼任prIME Oncology(全球独立医学教育机构)医学总监,为肿瘤学家和其他肿瘤照护者组织并提供线上与线下教育活动。自2017年从大学正式退休后,仍积极参与研究以及与自己领域相关和全球专业讲座,并为医学教育机构以及一系列研发新型肿瘤治疗药物的制药和生物技术公司提供咨询服务。

LA SCCHN 当前的标准治疗

半数以上头颈肿瘤患者表现为局部晚期疾病,高危患者预后仍然较差。LA SCCHN的治疗较为复杂,需要采取多学科团队方法。Jonathan Schoenfeld教授、Ezra Cohen教授和Yungan Tao教授将讨论该类患者目前的治疗策略,以及在保存功能和生活质量的同时实现治愈所面临的挑战。

 

免疫治疗在 LA SCCHN 中的作用

基于生存改善,PD-1免疫检查点抑制剂(联合或不联合化疗)已成为复发/转移性头颈肿瘤(R/M SCCHN)患者的标准治疗。然而,在局部晚期疾病患者中,多项评估在常规放化疗基础上加用PD-1/PD-L1抑制剂的临床研究结果不尽人意。专家组将讨论免疫治疗失败的潜在原因、具有前景的新辅助免疫治疗方法,以及一些正在开展并值得期待的研究,这些研究将有助于确定免疫治疗在LA SCCHN中的作用。

 

LA SCCHN 提高CRT疗效的创新策略

为改善LA SCCHN患者的治疗结局,亟需新的治疗策略。凋亡抑制蛋白(IAP)是一类调节细胞凋亡和免疫应答的蛋白。通过靶向IAP来增强放化疗,是目前最具前景的治疗策略。一项IAP的III期临床研究正在进行中,联合放化疗的替代靶向治疗也正在研究中。专家组将回顾靶向IAP的现有数据,并讨论LA SCCHN患者的未来治疗格局。

 

本医学教育活动专为放射肿瘤学家、肿瘤内科医生和其他参与头颈肿瘤患者治疗的多学科团队成员设计。

完成本教育活动后,参会者可掌握以下内容:

 

  • 评估不可切除LA SCCHN(HPV阳性和HPV阴性)患者的现有治疗选择
  • 解释免疫检查点抑制剂是否可在LA SCCHN发挥作用
  • 识别并评估出在LA SCCHN中加强CRT疗效的潜在策略,包括靶向凋亡抑制蛋白(IAPs)

由ACE Oncology主办。

本医学教育活动由Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany医疗业务下的独立拨款提供资金支持。

本活动所包含的内容均秉持循证医学为基础、全面且无商业偏倚的宗旨,主要目的是提高学习者的专业度和能力,从而改善患者诊疗。

以下是专家组的披露,包括其或其配偶/伴侣与本活动内容商业利益相关的产品或器械的关系或利益关系:

 

Ezra Cohen, MD,曾在Psioxus Therapuetics、Ayala、Kura和Kinnate Biopharma担任顾问委员会委员。曾在Cel Sci、卫材、Hoopika、Istari、杨森、Kahr Medical、Mana Therapeutics、Mirati、默沙东、Nectin Tx、Pangea Therapeutics和罗氏担任顾问。持有Kinnate Biopharma和Primmune Therapeutics的股票/股份。

 

Jonathan Schoenfeld, MD,曾在Castle Biosciences、基因泰克、Immunitas和默克担任顾问委员会委员。曾在安斯泰来和Stimit担任顾问。已获得百时美施贵宝、再生元、德彪制药和默克的临床研究资金。拥有Immunitas的股票/股份。

 

Yungan Tao, MD,PhD,曾在益普生和默克担任顾问委员会委员。

 

ACE Oncology的员工已做出披露:

 

Robert Coleman,已收到安进、阿斯利康、勃林格殷格翰、ITM、美纳里尼和Scancell关于临床试验方案制定和实施建议的咨询费。担任Inbiomotion科学和临床顾问委员会主席;作为Inbiomotion正在研发的生物标志物的共同发明人和专利持有者,拥有知识产权和股票期权。曾在安进、ITM和诺华支持的研讨会上开展独立医学教育讲座。

 

ACE Oncology要求讲者、策划人员、经理及其他管控本活动内容的个人披露任何与本活动可能相关的实际或明确利益冲突(COI)。所有已知的COI均已根据ACE Oncology的政策进行了详细的审查和解决。ACE Oncology致力于为其学习者提供高质量的活动和相关材料,促进医疗进步及质量改善,而不以获取商业利益相关的特定专有业务利益为目的。

Start Activity

CME
Expert Review

Innovative Strategies in Locally Advanced Head and Neck Cancer:
Focus on Targeting Inhibitor of Apoptosis Proteins

CPC Release: 10-06-2022

Valid for credit through: 09-06-2023

Duration: 1 hour

The management of locally advanced small cell carcinoma of the head and neck (LA SCCHN) is complex, and selecting the most appropriate treatment strategy for an individual patient requires a multidisciplinary team approach. Chemoradiotherapy (CRT) is the current gold standard for fit patients with LA SCCHN; however, despite treatment, many patients experience relapse. Research with new agents and combination strategies that may enhance the activity of CRT, and thereby lead to improved locoregional control and patient survival, is promising. In this Expert Review, leading experts in the field will discuss the current standard of care, the role of immunotherapy, and the rationale for targeting inhibitors of apoptosis proteins (IAPs), along with the clinical evidence of clinical activity of antagonists of IAPs, in SCCHN. An accompanying slide set will summarize the key data and treatment recommendations for the optimal management of patients with LA SCCHN.

Based on Expert Review recorded on April 28, 2022.

This program is available with subtitles in the following languages:

Faculty

Ezra Cohen, MD

Ezra Cohen, MD

University of California San Diego

San Diego, California, US

Ezra Cohen is Chief of the Division of Hematology-Oncology and Co-Director of the San Diego Center for Precision Immunotherapy, California, US. A physician-scientist, Dr. Cohen led an independently funded laboratory interested in mechanisms of action of novel therapeutics. He has made major contributions to targeted and immunotherapy. His research has received peer-reviewed funding in the study of epidermal growth factor receptor inhibitors, cell therapy, and immunotherapy in head and neck cancer. He has made major contributions to the understanding of critical signaling pathways, integration of novel agents into standard of care, and definition of mechanisms to overcome resistance to drug therapy. He has also recently co-developed a personalized neoantigen vaccine using unique cancer mutations to boost an anti-tumor immune response.

Dr. Cohen is Associate Director for Clinical Science, Co-Leader of the Solid Tumor Therapeutics research program and Co-Director of the Hanna and Mark Gleiberman Head and Neck Cancer Center at Moores Cancer Center. Among other roles, he serves as a member of the Protocol Review and Monitoring Committee (PRMC), the Cancer Council, and the Cancer Center’s Executive Committee.

Jonathan D. Schoenfeld, MD, MPH

Jonathan D. Schoenfeld, MD, MPH

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Boston, Massachusetts, US

Jonathan Schoenfeld is an Associate Professor at Harvard Medical School in the Department of Radiation Oncology at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and a Senior Physician at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Massachusetts, US. He is a member of the Head and Neck Disease Center at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and the Cancer Immunology Program at the Dana-Farber / Harvard Cancer Center. He also serves as the Associate Director of Clinical Research within the Department of Radiation Oncology. He received his medical degree from the Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology at Harvard Medical School after completing a research fellowship as a Gates Scholar at the University of Cambridge in the UK. He performed his medical internship at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, then completed residency in radiation oncology in the Harvard Radiation Program. He received a Master of Public Health in Clinical Effectiveness from the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. He serves on the NCI Radiation and Immune Modulation Working Group and the Radiation Developmental Therapeutics Subcommittee for NRG Oncology. His research focuses on clinical trials evaluating the use of novel agents and technology to improve the care of head and neck patients, and translational investigations related to immunotherapy and radiation.

Yungan Tao, MD, PhD

Yungan Tao, MD, PhD

Gustave Roussy

Villejuif, France

Yungan Tao is Chief Radiation Oncologist of head and neck / dermatology / endocrinology in the Department of Radiation Oncology at Institut Gustave-Roussy, Villejuif, France. Dr. Tao is Principal Investigator (PI) or co-PI of several international / European and French national clinical phase II/III studies, utilizing new radiotherapy technology, and investigating the association of targeted therapy or immunotherapy with chemoradiotherapy, for example. He is also interested in translational research, particularly regarding the radiosensitivity of head and neck cancer related to new targeted therapy and immuno-biomarkers. Dr. Tao’s recent publications as first/co-first/last author include JCO, Lancet Oncol, and Nature Reviews Clinical Oncology.

Dr. Tao is Vice-President and member of the executive committee and scientific committee of the French head and neck oncology radiotherapy group (GORTEC). He is also a member of the Scientific Committee of French Head and Neck Intergroup and a Radiation Oncology Expert in Unicancer Head and Neck Group. He is the key investigator/radiation oncologist in the Head and Neck Group of European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) and Expert Panelist for the nasopharyngeal cancer project in the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA). Dr. Tao is also a board member at Head and Neck Cancer International Group (HNCIG).

Robert Coleman MBBS, MD, FRCP, FRCPE, FACP

Robert Coleman MBBS, MD, FRCP, FRCPE, FACP | Moderator

University of Sheffield

Sheffield, UK

Robert (Rob) Coleman is Emeritus Professor of Medical Oncology in the Department of Oncology and Metabolism at the University of Sheffield, UK. He graduated in medicine from King’s College Hospital Medical School in 1978 and trained in London and Edinburgh before moving to Sheffield in 1991; he was instrumental in developing clinical cancer research in Sheffield and established an internationally respected bone oncology research team in the city. Professor Coleman has held many leadership roles within the university and the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Cancer Research Network. He has published over 450 peer-reviewed manuscripts and numerous book chapters, and is a Past-President of the Cancer and Bone Society and the founding editor of Journal of Bone Oncology.

During 2014–2019, Professor Coleman was a part-time Medical Director for the global independent medical education provider, prIME Oncology, developing and delivering both live and online educational activities for oncologists and other providers of cancer care. Since retiring from his formal position at the university in 2017, he remains active in research, lectures on his areas of expertise around the world, and provides consultancy to a medical education company as well as a range of pharma and biotech companies developing new oncology treatments.

Current Standard of Care for LA SCCHN

More than half of patients with head and neck cancer present with locally advanced disease, and high-risk patients continue to have a poor prognosis. The treatment of locally advanced squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck (LA SCCHN) is complex and requires a multidisciplinary team approach. Dr. Jonathan Schoenfeld, Dr. Ezra Cohen, and Dr. Yungan Tao discuss the current treatment strategies for these patients and challenges in achieving cure while preserving function and quality of life.

 

The Role of Immunotherapy in LA SCCHN

Based on improved survival, PD-1 immune checkpoint inhibitors (± chemotherapy) have become the standard of care for patients with recurrent/metastatic SCCHN. However, in patients with locally advanced disease, the results of several clinical trials evaluating the addition of PD-(L)1 inhibitors to conventional chemoradiotherapy have been disappointing. The expert panel discuss the potential reasons for immunotherapy failure, promising neoadjuvant immunotherapy approaches, and some ongoing, eagerly awaited trials that will hopefully help to define the role of immunotherapy in LA SCCHN.

 

Promising Strategies to Enhance Efficacy of (Chemo)radiotherapy in LA SCCHN

Novel strategies are needed to improve outcomes for patients with LA SCCHN. Enhancing chemoradiation by targeting Inhibitor of Apoptosis Proteins (IAPs), a class of proteins that regulate apoptosis and modulate immune responses, is currently the most promising strategy, and a phase III clinical trial is underway. Alternative targeted therapies in combination with (chemo)radiation are also being investigated. The expert panel review the available data for targeting IAPs and consider the future treatment landscape for patients with LA SCCHN.

 

This program is specifically designed for radiation oncologists, medical oncologists, and other members of the head and neck multidisciplinary team involved in the treatment of patients with head and neck cancer.

Upon completion of this educational activity, participants should be able to:

 

  • Evaluate current treatment options for patients with unresectable LA SCCHN (HPV+ and HPV-)
  • Explain whether immune checkpoint inhibitors have a role in the LA setting
  • Identify and assess potential strategies to enhance CRT efficacy, including targeting inhibitors of apoptosis proteins (IAPs) in LA SCCHN

This activity is jointly provided by USF Health and ACE Oncology.

 

The information provided by this CE activity is for continuing education purposes only and is not meant to substitute for the independent medical/clinical judgment of a healthcare provider relative to diagnostic and treatment options of a specific patient’s medical condition.

 

USF is an Equal Opportunity / Affirmative Action / Equal Access Institution.

 

USF Health is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education, the American Nurses Credentialing Center and the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education to provide continuing education to healthcare professionals. As an accredited provider, USF Health is required to disclose personal information to relevant accredited bodies that certify CE to process credits/contact hours, comply with reporting requirements, and for internal recordkeeping and regulatory purposes. USF Health does not share or sell any individual’s contact information or unique identifiers to any commercial supporter, advertiser, or third party without the specific permission of the individual.

This educational activity is supported by an independent medical education grant from Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany.

ACCME

Accreditations

 

Physicians

This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the accreditation requirements and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) through a joint providership of USF Health and ACE Oncology. USF Health is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

 

USF Health designates this enduring material for a maximum of 1 hour AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

 

The European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS) – European Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (EACCME) has an agreement of mutual recognition of continuing medical education (CME) credit with the American Medical Association (AMA). European physicians interested in converting AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ into European CME credit (ECMEC) should contact the UEMS (www.uems.eu)

 

Advanced Practice Providers

Physician Assistants may claim a maximum of 1 hour Category 1 credits for completing this activity. NCCPA accepts AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ from organizations accredited by ACCME or a recognized state medical society.

 

The AANPCP accepts certificates of participation for educational activities approved for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ by ACCME-accredited providers. APRNs who participate will receive a certificate of completion commensurate with the extent of their participation.

 

Date of original release: June 10, 2022. Date credit expired: June 9, 2023

 

Estimated time to complete activity: 1 hour

 

In order to receive credit for this activity, participants must:

 

  1. Read the information provided on this page regarding the target audience, learning objectives, and disclosures. Read and study the activity content, complete the post-test questions and the evaluation form.
  2. To claim your AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ certificate you will be redirected to the USF Health website where you will be able to request the certificate.

 

If you have questions regarding credit, please contact cpdsupport@usf.edu 

USF Health adheres to the Standards for Integrity and Independence in Accredited Continuing Education. All individuals in a position to influence content have disclosed to USF Health any financial relationship with an ineligible organization. USF Health has reviewed and mitigated all relevant financial relationships related to the content of the activity. The relevant financial relationships are listed below. All individuals not listed have no relevant financial relationships.

 

USF Health Office of Continuing Professional Development and ACE Oncology staff have no relevant financial interests/relationships or affiliations in relation to this activity.

 

Faculty

 

Ezra Cohen, MD has served on the advisory board for Psioxus Therapuetics, Ayala, Kura, and Kinnate Biopharma. He has served as a consultant for Cel Sci, Eisai, Hoopika, Istari, Janssen, Kahr Medical, Mana Therapeutics, Mirati, Merck & Co (MSD), Nectin Tx, Pangea Therapeutics and Roche. He has stocks/shares with Kinnate Biopharma and Primmune Therapeutics.

 

Jonathan Schoenfeld, MD has served on the advisory board for Castle Biosciences, Genentech, Immunitas and Merck KGA. He has served as a consultant for Astellas and Stimit. He has received grants for clinical research from Bristol Myers Squibb, Regeneron, Debiopharm and Merck KGA. He has stocks/shares with Immunitas.

 

Yungan Tao, MD has served on the advisory board for Ipsen and Merck & Co.

 

Content Reviewer

 

Robert Coleman, MD has no financial interests/relationships or affiliations in relation to this activity.

Start Activity